Man of Steel nominees announced

Embed from Getty Images

Wigan Warriors departing forward John Bateman has been named alongside St Helens duo Ben Barba and James Roby as the three nominees for the Steve Prescott Man of Steel award.

The three stars have been nominated after a poll of all Super League players and, while Barba has been a favourite to win the award since the early stages of the season but recent weeks have seen calls for England international Bateman to win the award after his consistent high quality performances. While neither of the two have won the accolade before, Roby was named the Man of Steel in 2007.

The nominees for the Young Player of the Year have also been revealed and, again, two Saints players are in contention. Matty Lees and Danny Richardson have been in sterling form for the club this year in their first campaign as regulars for Justin Holbrook’s men while Leeds Rhinos’ Jack Walker has been named in the trio of nominees, the youngster being one of very few bright spots in the reigning champions’ troubled campaign.

The winners will be announced at the Super League award ceremony on Monday 8th October in Manchester.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s